Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Discuss anything about Samsungs bada 2.0 here. Screenshots, leaks, firmware, anything.

Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby anasir » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:59 pm

Hi
I am interested in updating my samsung wave that came with Bada1 OS installed on it. I see there is a new version of OS is out Bada2 on bada forum. I have a few questions if you can answer them for me please.
1. I am in South Africa if i flash my phone to bada2 would i loose any of my licences such as route 66 GPS.
2. My OS version shows S8500XFVJF1. Can i install S8500/S8530-XPKJ1 which is available on bada forum?

Most of all is it stable and working alright.

Thanks a lot for your time and effort in replying to my email and it is much appreciated.

Regards


User avatar
anasir
Bada Noob
Bada Noob
 
Topic Starter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:11 pm
Thanks given: 4 times
Thanks received: 0

Re: Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby v1v14n » Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:40 pm

Cant answer your 1st question as I have never used route 66 GPS.

Yes you can install/flash to the new bada 2.0 firmware using multiloader, but I would suggest you to even download any full firmware for your region( Bada 1.O or 1.2), so that whenever KIES gives an official update to 2.0 you can flash back to the older full firmware and then update it through KIES.
User avatar
v1v14n
Bada Junior
Bada Junior
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:59 am
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 2 times

The following users thanked v1v14n for this post: anasir

Re: Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby trabelsisami » Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:27 am

hello evry body
i have a wave s8500jvjk1 1.0bada, so i update it whith kies to bada 1.2 s8500jvkd1
it is possible to ubdate to bada2.0 whith s8500xpkh1, or whith s8500 xpkj1. please help
User avatar
trabelsisami
Bada Noob
Bada Noob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:07 am
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 0

Re: Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby nrock83 » Wed Nov 16, 2011 4:09 pm

trabelsisami wrote:hello evry body
i have a wave s8500jvjk1 1.0bada, so i update it whith kies to bada 1.2 s8500jvkd1
it is possible to ubdate to bada2.0 whith s8500xpkh1, or whith s8500 xpkj1. please help


Yes you can update to s8500 xpkj1 its more stable i have it and i am prety stisfied ,or you can wait for an oficial update trough kies which is supposed to arive any time but i dont know when
User avatar
nrock83
Bada Noob
Bada Noob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:39 am
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 0

Re: Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby anasir » Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:00 pm

@nrock83: Thanks for your reply
@v1v14n : Thanks for your reply.
1. Do you think it will help if i try to back up everything onto a disc and then flash.
2. When i try to detect new firmware through Kies systems doesn't even take me to baba1.2. It shows current firmware XFVJF1 and latest firmware also it shows the same. I am confused with this. Does it mean that samsung is not updating any bada1.0 OS in my region (South Africa) or my device which is wave S8500 does not support any of the new firmwares like bada 1.2
User avatar
anasir
Bada Noob
Bada Noob
 
Topic Starter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:11 pm
Thanks given: 4 times
Thanks received: 0

Re: Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby v1v14n » Mon Nov 21, 2011 2:07 pm

To flash back to any firmware, you would need a full firmware of your region, you wont be able to back up on a disc and flash. Try searching on the net for a full firmware of your region. After flashing, in case you are satisfied with the new Bada 2.0 then no need to flash back.

Maybe Samsung hasnt released Bada 1.2 for South Africa, other South African users can confirm that.
User avatar
v1v14n
Bada Junior
Bada Junior
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:59 am
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 2 times

Re: Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby anasir » Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:21 am

@v1v14n: Bro i am at loss as to why samsung has not release any update for my region till date. I don't see a single link for even bada 1.2 for South Africa. Its very strange. Please guide me to a site if you know has one for me. I am still searching.
User avatar
anasir
Bada Noob
Bada Noob
 
Topic Starter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:11 pm
Thanks given: 4 times
Thanks received: 0

Re: Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby v1v14n » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:06 am

Not sure if we can send external links here, so have sent you a PM.
User avatar
v1v14n
Bada Junior
Bada Junior
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:59 am
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 2 times

Re: Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby Kannan » Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:58 am

I'm using wave 525 (s5253), is it possible to upgrade to bada 2.0... I'm from india..
User avatar
Kannan
Bada Noob
Bada Noob
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:26 am
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 0

Re: Updating bada1 to bada 2 in Wave S8500

Postby v1v14n » Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:50 am

Kannan wrote:I'm using wave 525 (s5253), is it possible to upgrade to bada 2.0... I'm from india..


Right now you cannot, the only firmwares available online are for Wave 8500 and Wave 8530
User avatar
v1v14n
Bada Junior
Bada Junior
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:59 am
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 2 times

Next

Return to Bada 2.0

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests